Complete Story


HME Woman of the Year Finalists Announced

Congratulations to OAMES Member Carol Gilligan-Chack!


The finalists for the 2020 HME Woman of the Year sponsored by VGM have been selected. The winner will be announced during a special virtual ceremony on Oct. 22.

The HME Woman of the Year finalists are Carol Gilligan-Chack, president and owner of Health Aid of Ohio; Patricia Mastandrea, CEO of MedCare Equipment Co., LLC; Tamme Dustin, CEO of Herron & Smith, LLC; and Terry Racciato, president of RAC & Associates.

“These women are determined advocates and leaders—serving our industry selflessly for years,” said Clint Geffert, president of VGM & Associates. “They exemplify the dedication and innovation required to have a positive impact not only on their business and coworkers, but also the customers and the communities they serve.”        

Now in its fifth year, the award, sponsored by VGM, recognizes one woman in the industry who has made significant contributions throughout her career to her company, community and the HME industry.

The 2020 finalists were selected based on recommendations from an honorary selection committee. The committee was comprised of 2019 HME Woman of the Year, Wendy Russalesi, CCO at AdaptHealth; Rob Boeye, executive vice president, HME at Brightree; Liz Beaulieu, editor at HME News; Brad Mariam, vice president of post-acute care at Medline Industries; and Eric Pauls, SRC sales leader, North America at Phillips Respironics.

The nominees included a broad spectrum of providers, manufacturers and other professionals in HME, rehab, respiratory and mastectomy. The committee chose the finalists using criteria that included implementing new business processes, advocating on behalf of the industry, improving the lives of patients and impacting her community through volunteerism.   

Mike Mallaro, CEO of VGM Group, Inc., personally notified each of the finalists.      

The HME Woman of the Year winner will be announced during a special virtual ceremony Oct. 22, 2020. For more information about the finalists, visit

Printer-Friendly Version