Complete Story


Ohio Advisory Council for Aging Appoints New Leaders


The Ohio Department of Aging (ODA) today announced new appointments for chairperson and vice chairperson of the Ohio Advisory Council for Aging.

John Corlett, a sitting member of the council from Cuyahoga County, was elected to chair the Council. Semanthie Brooks, a sitting member from Summit County, was elected as vice chair. 

“I want to thank council members Corlett and Brooks for taking on these leadership roles for the Ohio Advisory Council for Aging,” said ODA Director Ursel J. McElroy. “Their combined experience and expertise in the field of aging will be an invaluable asset to ODA and the older Ohioans we serve.”

The Ohio Advisory Council for Aging guides the director of ODA on issues and opportunities affecting older Ohioans, with members representing the interests of older adults, their caregivers, and organizations that serve them. They serve as ambassadors for the department at local events and with community groups. They gather information and ideas from constituents and share them with the director of the department. Members also recommend administrative and legislative actions, review agency plans, and more.

Corlett is the President and Executive Director of The Center for Community Solutions. Previously, he was vice president for government relations and community affairs at The MetroHealth System and served as the State of Ohio’s Medicaid Director. He currently sits on the board of directors of The Centers for Families and Children, First Year Cleveland, Lakewood Community Service Society, the United Way of Greater Cleveland, and the Woodruff Foundation.

Brooks is retired from the Benjamin Rose Institute on Aging, where she served as director of community advocacy. She currently serves on the AARP Executive Council, Senior Voice! Steering Committee, Consortium Against Adult Abuse Conference Committee, Council on Older Persons Legislative Committee, the Western Reserve Area Agency on Aging Public Policy Committee, and the Cuyahoga County Department of Senior and Adult Services Advocacy Committee.

The Ohio Advisory Council for Aging consists of 12 governor-appointed members, four members of the state legislature as well as the directors (or their designees) of the state departments of Mental Health and Addiction Services, Developmental Disabilities, Health, and Job and Family Services.

Printer-Friendly Version